Betting on Twenty20 World Cup Cricket

Twenty20 Cricket, or T20 Cricket as it is often called, was introduced by the English and Wales Cricket Board in 2003. The ECB was looking for another dynamic, one-day series to replace the Benson & Hedges Cup which had ended in 2002.

Twenty20 Cricket was the perfect solution, since it has an even faster pace that One Day Internationals with just 20 overs per inning instead of 50. The idea is that the entire game, of both innings, can be completed inside of 3 hours. If teams are tied at the end of play, a Super Over is started to determine the winner – ties are impossible in T20.

The high-octane, action-packed T20 matches appeal to younger spectators, which was an important criterion for the ECB back in 2003 as Cricket popularity and sponsorship were dwindling. Since then, Twenty20 has managed to attracted fans from every age group, all around the world. Several high-profile contests are held regularly, but without a doubt the most prestigious is the International Cricket Council T20 World Cup and the betting that comes with it.

TOP T20 cricket betting SITESJune 2024
1 IE allowed5/5100% Match up to $250 Bet now
2 IE allowed4.9/5100% Match Bonus Bet now
3 IE allowed4.8/5Login to see promotions Bet now

Twenty20 World Cup Bets

The T20 World Cup is also known as the ICC World Twenty20, and from the start of play – and at many bookmakers up to a year before, since the event is so well-loved – you can put money on who you think the overall victors will be.

You can also predict who will win each match, in straight and point spread stakes. Totals, where you say whether the total score will be more or less than an amount pre-set by your bookmaker, are also popular choices. Often, sportsbooks over both pre-game and in-play bets on T20 World Cup matches.

As you gain more insight into betting on T20 matches you can also place props bets, such as how many runs a particular player will score over the whole tournament or what the first method of dismissal will be in a game. Remember to research as much as possible, checking previous performances, injury reports, and any other information you can find before you make your prediction.

How the ICC World Twenty20 is Structured

The World Cup has a qualifying round, a group stage and a knockout stage. In the qualifying round, the full member nations in the top 9 ranking positions for ICC T20 teams are granted automatic qualification. These are joined by 6 teams who make it via the most recent T20 World Cup Qualifier tourney.

The top 8 of the 9 automatic qualifiers go through to the group stage, along with the top 4 of the other 6 qualifying teams. Since 12 sides compete in the group stage, it’s also known as the Super 12s. The 12 teams are divided into 2 groups of 6, and the top 2 sides from each group move forward to the knockout stage.

The knockout stage consists of 2 Semi-Finals and the Final, meaning each semi-finalist competes against just 1 other team. Finally, the last 2 squads standing go head to head for a chance to lift the prestigious trophy. By that point, spectator and player excitement is at fever pitch with T20 World Cup Final Bets!